Saturday, August 3, 2013

Racing Points Index - CWTS - 2013 Inaugural Midsummer Classic

The tenth race of the 2013 Camping World Truck Series, the Inaugural Midsummer Classic, was completed on July 24, 2013 at Eldora Speedway.  Since the Racing Points Index only awards points to drivers finishing in the Top Ten, below is a list of those drivers who finished in the Top Ten with the tentative number of points awarded.  (Note:  Points are awarded based upon finishing position and relative purse of each race as compared to all other races of a particular season.  Since relative purse cannot be determined until the end of the season, the number of points awarded for each race in 2013 is approximate until that time.)

2013 Inaugural Midsummer Classic, Eldora July 24, 2013:

Pos.  Driver  (App. Pts)

1.   Austin Dillon   (589)
2.   Kyle Larson   (530)
3.   Ryan Newman   (471)
4.   Joey Coulter   (412)
5.   Brendan Gaughan   (354)
6.   Timothy Peters   (295)
7.   Darrell Wallace, Jr.   (236)
8.   Matt Crafton   (177)
9.   Dave Blaney   (118)
10.   Max Gresham   (59)

Below are the current RPI CWTS Driver of the Year Standings. 

2013 RPI CWTS Driver of the Year Standings – Top 20 (Through 10 of 22 Races):

Pos.  Driver  App. Pts   (St, W, T5, T10)

1.   Matt Crafton   4,953   (10, 1, 5, 10)
2.   Johnny Sauter   3,758   (10, 2, 4, 6)
3.   Kyle Busch   3,486   (5, 2, 4, 4)
4.   Brendan Gaughan   3,441   (10, 0, 6, 6)
5.   Ty Dillon   3,017   (10, 1, 3, 5)
6.   Ryan Blaney   2,909   (10, 0, 3, 6)
7.   Jeb Burton   2,854   (10, 1, 3, 6)
8.   Timothy Peters   2,595   (10, 1, 2, 6)
9.   James Buescher   2,266   (10, 0, 2, 5)
10.   Chase Elliott   1,937   (4, 0, 3, 4)
11.   Darrell Wallace, Jr.   1,861   (10, 0, 1, 6)
12.   Joey Coulter   1,736   (10, 0, 2, 4)
13.   Ron Hornaday, Jr.   1,704   (10, 0, 2, 4)
14.   Miguel Paludo   1,578   (10, 0, 0, 6)
15.   Kyle Larson   1,244   (2, 1, 2, 2)
16.   German Quiroga   974   (10, 0, 1, 2)
17.   Erik Jones   961   (3, 0, 1, 3)
18.   Justin Lofton   879   (2, 0, 1, 2)
19.   Brad Keselowski   786   (2, 0, 1, 1)
20.   Max Gresham   693   (10, 0, 1, 2)

We have updated all of the lists that we created over the winter in which we ranked drivers in various categories based on career statistics and Racing Point Index points.  Below are the changes on those lists that took place based on the 2013 Inaugural Midsummer Classic.

The highest move on this list as a result of the Inaugural Midsummer Classic belonged to fourth-place finisher Joey Coulter, who picked up enough career RPI points to move past Rich Bickle into 37th place on our list of the most successful drivers in Camping World Truck Series history.

Jeb Burton moved up on our list this week despite finishing outside of the Top Ten in Eldora.  Because of the few number of starters in the Midsummer Classic (30), the prize pool was lower than anticipated.  As a result, the relative race share had to be adjusted for all of the prior races, with the effect being that drivers who performed well received additional points to compensate for this fact.  Jeb Burton picked up 61 RPI points as a result of the adjustment, and this paltry total allowed him to move past Marty Houston and Michael Waltrip into 86th place on the all-time CWTS list.

Finally, a Sprint Cup regular replaced a Sprint Cup legend in our All-Time Top 100.  In his fifth career CWTS race, Ryan Newman recorded his fifth Top Five in the series and has now collected enough career RPI points in the truck series to qualify as the 98th most successful driver in series history.  The person he displaces in the Top 100 is Darrell Waltrip, who had one Top Five and eight Top Tens in his 17-race CWTS career.

Another driver who came back to visit the Camping World Truck Series in Eldora was the race winner, Austin Dillon, who collected the fifth win of his CWTS career.  This total moves him into a tie with Mike Wallace, Rick Crawford, Scott Riggs and Timothy Peters for the 20th most in series history.

Fifth-place finisher in the Inagural Midsummer Classic, Brendan Gaughan, recorded the 43rd Top Five of his CWTS career.  This total broke his tie with Greg Biffle and moved him into a tie with Johnny Sauter for the 16th most in series history.

Austin Dillon also broke a tie, his with David Reutimann, with his victory marking the 18th Top Five of his CWTS career.  Dillon now finds himself alone in 34th place in career Top Fives in the Camping World Truck Series.

Finally, Joey Coulter broke his tie with Kurt Busch, only to find himself tied with Jon Wood, Nelson Piquet, Jr. and Randy Tolsma, with fifteen career CWTS Top Fives.  These three drivers are tied with the 39th most Top Fives in CWTS history.

We’re going to lump our two changers together in this category this week because they are so close.  Austin Dillon recorded the 33rd Top Ten of his CWTS career at Eldora to break his tie with Erik Darnell and move into sole possession of the 39th most Top Tens in CWTS history.  Of course, Darnell drops to 40th place, but he isn’t alone.  Fourth-place finisher in the Inaugural Midsummer Classic, Joey Coulter, joins him with 32 career CWTS Top Tens.

In a milestone move, Joey Coulter moved into the Top 25 of this list by passing Rich Bickle, just as he had on our all-time list of the CWTS’ greatest drivers.

Because of our previously mentioned point adjustment, Chase Elliott was able to move up into 29th place all-time on this list, passing Hank Parker, Jr., despite not even participating in the Inaugural Midsummer Classic.

Moving up for more traditional reasons, Darrell Wallace, Jr. was able to parlay his seventh-place finish at Eldora into an eight-spot jump in our rankings, moving into 31st place among drivers who have yet to win a Camping World Truck Series race.

The top mover on this list as a result of Eldora belonged to Timothy Peters, who started his 150th career CWTS race to move into sole possession of 17th place on this list, breaking his tie with Butch Miller.

With his 104th career CWTS start, James Buescher moved into a tie with Chad McCumbee for the 33rd most in series history.  Just behind Buescher is Norm Benning with 103 CWTS starts, breaking his tie with Bobby Hamilton to move into sole possession of 35th place.

With the 61st fruitless start of his career, Miguel Paludo broke his tie with Johnny Chapman and Tony Roper and moved into a tie with Rob Morgan for the 20th most career CWTS starts without a single victory in the series.

Tracy Hines returned to the CWTS in the Inaugural Midsummer Classic to move into a tie with Bill Sedgwick and Chase Montgomery with 53 career starts without a victory, good for a tie for 31st place on our 0-fer list.

In his foray into the CWTS this week, Austin Dillon pulled off the victory and made a milestone move, increasing his career winning percentage to .0943 (5/53), moving him past Ted Musgrave, Scott Riggs and Jack Sprague with the tenth highest winning percentage in series history.

By not winning the Inaugural Midsummer Classic, Joey Coulter saw his career winning percentage drop to .0175 (1/57), which moves him out of a tie with Jason Leffler and down to 38th place on this list.

No comments:

Post a Comment